New Covid-19 policy in Mississippi has stirred the pot and many fear that the new rules are nothing more than government overreach. The state of Mississippi has announced that those who test positive for Covid-19 must isolate for 10 days or they may face up to 5 years in prison as well as a $5,000 fine.
From the Daily Wire:
As COVID-19 cases rise in Mississippi, the state’s Department of Health on Friday sent out an alert warning those who test positive for COVID-19 to isolate for 10 days or face up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Fox News reported that the order issued Friday by State Health Officer Dr. Thomas Dobbs said that those “infected with COVID-19 must remain in the home or other appropriate residential location for 10 days from onset of illness.”
Dobbs added that people isolating due to a positive COVID-19 test don’t need a negative test to end their quarantine, but do need to be “fever free for at least 24 hours with improvement of other symptoms.” Further, any students or faculty in K-12 schools who test positive for COVID-19 are not allowed on campus during the isolation period.
Anyone who doesn’t follow this protocol, Dobbs wrote, faces stiff penalties.
These new rules have many worried that they may be punished for a crime they did not know they had committed. If someone gets the flu, which has symptoms identical to Covid-19, will they have to isolate? Will those who get Covid-19 be able to get access to necessary goods? will the penalized for having to make a run to the grocery store? Considering the unreliability of the Covid-19 tests, many might be forced to isolate despite not being sick at all.